Equipment for electronics lab

DJ, I know how much we need equipment for the lab. Since there isn’t money allocated for everything that is wanted, I would like to make a donation to help the cause. Perhaps there are others who may want to as well.

What’s on the top of the wish list?

I’m just a newbie, but I walked through the lab the other day and I noticed the following:

Key Items Present in Makerspace Lab:
Solder equipment
reflow oven
DMMs
Power Supplies
Scopes and probes
Spare components
…and a bunch of other random stuff…

Ideas for Additional Equipment that I had:
Logic analyzer
Data Acquision equipment-Multifunction DAQ card or two including AI, AO, DIO, Counters,etc.
Spectrum analyzer
VNA (I can always dream, right?)

I would pitch in as well. I’m sure we could get a bit of a “drive” going. I’d love to see additional (better) scopes

By ‘better’, what do you need? More bandwidth? Storage? More channels? Multi time base? Smaller? Other features like DMM, frequency counter, logic analysis?

I wouldn’t mind a stronger magnifying glass, or even better, some sort of stereo scope hooked up to a projector

How about a spectrophotometer for testing the output of LEDs?

Two Rigol DS1054Z digital oscilloscopes.

1 Like

[quote=“schrodinger123, post:3, topic:548”]
Ideas for Additional Equipment that I had:
Logic analyzer[/quote]
Welcome! It’s great that we are accumulating interested hardware hackers.

We have an Intronix LogicPort, which should be adequate for almost any project at the Maker Space. We researched the available USB-based offerings, and this was the best in its class at the time, and I believe it remains so.

However, I do have a fully functioning Agilent 16700B analyzer with sampling and pattern generator cards that I would be happy to donate, if anybody things that it would be used.