Wanted: Welding instruction

I’m new to DMS and want to be able to use the metal shop but don’t have much welding experience. Would someone here be able to help me?

thanks. i saw this already but there’s no welding related classes mentioned anywhere in there or on the calendar.

I can train you if I get the metal shop people’s blessing. I’ve done it before one on one and if you’re wanting GMAW/MIG which is easily the most accessible that’s pretty much all I do with my life these days.

3 Likes

that would be rad. wednesday or thursday night this week this week work? you gonna be around then?

I can be. Wednesday might be best since Thursdays are usually nuts.

Have you had the basic safety talk yet? I can do that too, but I just need to figure out if it is cool with the boss folks.

1 Like

We are new too and would like to join a welding class.

I would absolutely love a welding class! I’ve done a bit of MIG in college but getting certified to do it at the makerspace would be huge. Definitely watching this thread.

Okay, I have two hours left at work and then I’ll figure this out.

2 Likes

I’m down to join a mini class on wed if you end up offering it. I’d be free between 9pm-11 that day or before 7pm, but could also do a Thurs session say after 8:30pm or so too. Actually just bought a welding helmet for the Plasma Cam class tonight and so wouldn’t mind some more reasons to bust it out!

Please note the welding tools require a Metal Shop Safety class before you can operate them.

https://dallasmakerspace.org/wiki/Tools#Metal_Shop

1 Like

I’m also interested in a welding class.

I think I am going to take all my outlines from when I used to teach the DMS safety class and write up an online lesson for folks here. Maybe the admin can make it a sticky.

I’ll also write up a test I can proctor and that’ll help expedite the safety qualification progress and give real feedback/physical record of whether or not folks have taken it/highlight problem areas.