Vintage stereo repair?

I have little to no experience fixing electronics, however I just inherited a 1966/67 Grundig ks760u cabinet stereo/record player that needs attention. The stereo is in immaculate physical condition, but the left speaker set cuts in and out And the radio tuning knobs do not work. The unit powers on without issue, the record player works, and all the lights turn on. Due to the sentimental value, and my affinity towards vinyl, I would like to return it to its former glory. Anyone in the community have experience with this type of electronic that is willing to walk me through the process? I am willing to compensate you for your time and knowledge.

Best,

Kevin

1 Like

@Team_Vector

This vintage equipment is most likely vacuum tube based. Bring the unit by and I can check the tubes for you. I have a vast collection of extra tubes in case we need to replace one.

10 Likes

Thanks Rich-- I think you are correct that it is a Vacuum tube based system.Details on the tubes and specs can be found here.

I was doing some digging on Reddit and the community there seems to think the amp is the issue. I would love to connect at Makerspace to walk through what could be wrong.

Due to holiday travel, I am looking to start this project early to mid-January. Is there a time that works well for you that I should follow up on this request?

Best,

Kevin

The tuning issue is probably a broken nylon ‘string’ that is wound around some pulleys and attached to a spring. Don’t take it off without noting how it is routed so you can properly replace it.

1 Like

Just let me know in January when you want to meet.