Metal Sheer (Project finished in Nov. 2014)

I’m working on a light up sign for the VECTOR committee and I need some flashing cut in half on the long dimension. Currently the metal is 10 inch x 48 in x 1/16 inch approx. Finished I would like strips 5 inch x 48 inch x 1/16 inch.

Can any of one help me with this?

Thanks
Nick Sainz

Without a shear the table saw is probably your best bet. Run it across on top of a piece of wood. With the appropriate blade, of course.

1 Like

Thanks for the suggestion,
I’m new to cutting metal on the table saw, do you have a suggested blade by chance?

Thanks,
Nick Sainz

Maybe the Machine Shop Committee could be persuaded into purchasing one.

http://www.harborfreight.com/30-inch-shear-press-brake-and-slip-roll-5907.html

Nice suggestion Mike,

i’m not sure I could be persuasive enough to sell it, I believe we already have a Bend Brake about that size at the space. These tool are pretty specialized and sheet metal work at the space is kind of uncommon, probably because we don’t have the tools, but still a hard sell.

Thanks for the suggestion. :smile:

We talked about getting a Grizzly version at one point. I think it’d be good to have and I know there are people with a like mind on that.

We had one of these Harbor Freights donated and it broke in a few months when someone probably put 1/2 hardened steel in it thinking that was ok. We will never know since no one spoke up.

After reading my post it sounds so negative. That was not intentional. I just wanted to pass on what happened to ours in the hope it would help in making a decision. A tool like this is what I call an entry tool which allows people to work in sheet metal. Similar to how a table saw will allow people to work in wood. Adding a jig saw, wood jointer, etc would make things easier but the entry tool would be the table saw in the case of wood.

For comparison here’s a comparable model from Grizzly and twice the price.