Machine Shop Classes

Good afternoon. I’m fairly new to DMS and am extremely interested in learning the CNC Machine and the metal lathe. I have not seen any classes on this for anytime in the future and was wondering if any were planned. Any help would be appreciated,

Thanks in advance

You may be waiting a while or have to contact someone directly. Neither metal working nor machine shop has very many classes outside of the plasmacam, haas, Bridgeport, and here recently welding in my experience. Ive just been watching YouTube videos over what I want to do and if there’s no signage saying the machine requires training i just go for it. Not many other options.

1 Like

I know this doesn’t help much, but there were lathe classes on the 10th, 12th, and 13th.

We are in the process of completing the installation and testing of a new metal lathe. The old one will be removed shortly and then I’m sure classes will resume on the new lathe. @BobKarnaugh is one of the instructors; perhaps he can chime in.

@David_Steele is in the process of creating some Machine Shop overview/safety classes that will be forthcoming shortly.

I don’t know about the Haas training … I believe that @rjohnsoniv is the leader of the Haas. There is a CAD change in process and he can fill you in on training plans.

There is a Machine Shop committee meeting tonight (3/15) at 7pm in the Purple Classroom. Everyone is welcome to attend (you don’t even have to pre-register). This is a great place to meet some of the folks who are more active in the Machine shop, ask your questions, and get involved. It will take about an hour.

David Kessinger, @Photomancer, is currently the chair (pending tonight’s election) and he can probably also address the Haas issue.

2 Likes

Machine Shop Monthly Committee Meeting
https://calendar.dallasmakerspace.org/events/view/1621

The Bridgeport, metal lathe, cold cut saw, and (obviously) the Haas all require training. There may or may not be signage.