Help! My bottoms are melting

I’ve been coming to DMS for several months on Saturday. I am having a persistent problem with the bottom spreading as if it were melting. I showed Max the problem, he thought I might have the brim enabled. I don’t. I took a picture not sure how well it will show in the image, but her goes…

I used this filament…

My cureent thought is maybe I can tweak the tool temperature and stop the melting. I may be wrong, but I am listening. Help?

The Z-axis is probably very squished on the first layer. This is called “elephant footing”. I think the Z-height needs adjustment on some of the printers.

2 Likes

I have seen that from too hot bed temps. The plastic stays soft too long, the top gets heavy and squishes it. Part cooling fan is working? Check bed temps for brand of material.

Max insists the z axis is correct, as my first thought is it needed tweaking. Since I can only be there on Saturdays Max is always busy either teaching or prepping for class. I have located the temp setting in KISSlicer, Since I can do nothing about the z axis, any specific recommendations? I could drop the tool temp and bed temp 5 degrees or so and see what happens?

If Z was too low then most likely the nozzle would simply block and cause filament chaffing on the first layer.
If the issue extends beyond the first layer then it is more likely either the bed temp is too high for the filament, or the nozzle temp is too high, leaving the extrusion in a state too much like liquid.
It is a little difficult to see from the picture though how many layers are affected.
Does the printer have a heated chamber? That could also be too high of a temp.

Most slicers have an option to add an offset to each axis. I sometimes use this to shift the Z axis up/down without actually tweaking the printer. Looks like it’s under the ‘printer’ tab in Kiss.

See page 38 here. Printing a single layer will help give you a good idea of whether the Z axis is set correctly or not.

1 Like