Build a tricked out PC - Steampunk? Case modification?

I have acquired parts for a very strong personal computer. However, I’d like to trick out the case with art work, copper plumbing, brass gauges, re-paint the case, etc. However, as this is MakerSpace, I’d like some input from various crafts and am open to artistic suggestions. Steampunk is one direction, but I am open to suggestions.

I am a life-long programmer, not a computer builder. It will be a multi-CPU, 128gig ram, SSD, yada, yada, and needs a case worthy of an art project, yet technical of appearance.

My budget is flexible, but I already have the actual computer components, the base case, and some trinkets that MIGHT be included. I’d like to wrap this up by Thanksgiving. I can meet almost any time as I am semi-retired.

I NEED IDEAS!

[email protected]

1 Like

Myself and some others have done PC mods. I’d recommend starting with a decent PC case design like a Corsair or Cooler Master and adding to it. @David_K_Kessinger did some steampunk props just like you have described, he might be able to help. If you need any 3D printed custom parts I may be able to help with that.

I have a new Thermaltake Chaser A71 for a starter. Full tower. If it is a bad fit, I’ll get another.

This is probably my last PC and I want it powerful and up-gradable (I’ll handle that part) and a work of QUALITY art on the outside. I know that a few MakerSpace psychos can come up with ideas to blow my mind. I’ve done 45 years of software, am 70, and want this one to ride me for better part of a decade.

Besides, I have two grandsons to impress. I want them to wander off drooling and babbling after they see it in action. I have MB, video, ram, cpus, SSDs already.

Thanks for the input.

1 Like

I believe you mean @Photomancer

3 Likes

Carl,

I’m just a young man of 62, but I enjoy Steam Punk and would love to Help you “Punk” this out.

I’ll send you a private message with my contact info.

@mathewbusby thanks

2 Likes