3D Design Services

Hi,
I was wondering if anyone here does design services?

I want to design a violin chin rest with an extension where I can mount for a GoPro. The camera would face or point toward the instrument.
There are already a number of GoPro mounts on ThingiVerse (the 3D website for sharing designs); but I have not seen a decent violin chin rest out there, but there may be.

I used to use Shapr3D for the iPad, but it’s not cheap and I am a home/hobbyist so I couldn’t see keeping it.

Message Me Here if You’re Interested

1 Like

Not sure if you’re a member, but we have deals with Dassault to offer the latest Solidworks hobby license, and also a tricked out version of 2017 on the Jump server. I also hear very good things about OnShape.

I can help you design it for free, as long as you do the driving/implementation. Otherwise, maybe someone will offer their services.

I am interested in helping you. I am new to Dms and I am still finding my way around. I am fairly good at solidworks. Dm me and we can figure out the details

2 Likes

Since I can’t find a decent, existing model or design of a violin chinrest on ThingiVerse… I would have to bring one in and use calipers or a measuring tool to get the dimensions correct? It does not have to be perfect as the chinrest doesn’t interact with other parts. Once the chinrest is modeled in solid works, you may be able to drag in a GoPro camera mount model from ThingiVerse and determine what is the best way to support the GoPro mount.

Does that approach seem sensible? It seems like a lot of work.

Ya all those things can be done with out too much effort. I you need help with any part of the process just let me know!

We have a Revopoint POP 3D scanner. IDK how to use it, but that might be worth pursuing, esp. if your chin rest has complex curves.

1 Like
4 Likes

Several more here:

4 Likes