Wood lathe and safety classes

Hello,

Please let me know when can be next wood lathe and safety

cc: @jnorine

Let me look at getting a class up asap and I’ll post when I submit.

1 Like

@LBellamkonda –
You should probably list your availabilities, so that the class can be scheduled appropriately. Otherwise, Murphy will get you, and it will scheduled on the one day/time that you absolutely can’t make it…

I submitted a class for 1/13 at 10 am. Should go live Sunday night at this link: https://calendar.dallasmakerspace.org/events/view/21028

If that doesn’t work for you, let me know and I’ll figure something out.

1 Like

I’ve been waiting for this! I’ll be watching for this link to go live, too.

I would like to get into a lathe safety class. The one on 1/13 must be full. I have been turning for 50 years though I want to qualify for the Makerspace lathes plus I not so ingrained that I cannot learn something

Bob
816 896-7577

1 Like

I already have the Woodshop safety class.

The one on 1/13 is not full yet, because it’s not been published yet. All calendar events have an approval period of between 1 to 5 days depending on the conditions.

Yeah, the class isn’t “live” yet - there’s a delay between submission and it popping on the calendar.

That being said - if you’ve been turning for 50 years, there is probably very little you’ll get from my class; it’s mostly how not to hurt yourself on the machine and how to hold the tools.

@SWA - is there a process where I can just run someone through a quick checkout instead of making them take the whole class?

Let’s see what Burt says - but I bet we can get you checked out and working on the lathes.

Yes. The instructor can setup a private checkout. These are usually held to a higher standard. The fee is between the instructor and student.

Are there lock outs on the lathes to keep someone from who hasn’t been to the class ?