Wide Sander option

Instead of investing in another wide sander that can be used “wrong” has the group considered a Flatmaster drum sander? FLATMASTER Drum Sander (Approx. 12 weeks) – Stockroom Supply Tools I am not an expert in sanders, but this type seems less likely to be damaged by the wrong settings. Just something to consider and as a newbie to the Maker Space, would love to see the sander remain in operation for longer than a few weeks. Just my 2 cents. Thanks

It’s a good idea/alternative for a secondary tool to quickly sand an already flat surface, but it doesn’t have the same capabilities as the Powermatic drum sander, e.g. sanding a second surface flat and parallel to an already flat opposing side of stock, or sanding a piece of stock down to a specific desired thickness (note: this second function is far less used than the first).

In other words, this tool is to a jointer what the Powermatic drum sander is to the thickness planer; and there is a reason why both a jointer and a thickness planer are required to square up board.

That said, it might/could make a useful addition to woodshop since it would take some of the workload off of whatever replaces the Powermatic, as a lot of the use cases we have are just basic sanding of a large flat surface. Also, it’s not clear if there is room in new world order for an additional new tool with this footprint when we migrate to our new digs.

1 Like

That’s a cool concept however not sure it would really work for us at the space…

I agree it is not a replacement, but think it should be considered to reduce use and wear on the other unit, and also give us an alternative when the other unit is down. Thanks for the comments and I will see if I can attend the next board meeting and bring up.