Who is the Moodle Expert?

Who is the current Moodle expert?

I’m doing a massive overhaul of the casting class and Moodle doesn’t seem to behave like it used to. For instance, I can’t add pages or activities.

@skyspook used to be the expert but now I don’t know who to ask …

And FWIW, I’ve already started the edit so the old version is toast …

I wouldn’t say I’m an expert but I did put together 2 courses in it

We have an open ticket in IT to upgrade Moodle, we’re a major release behind. I mention this in case there are features available in 4.x you are trying to use and we’re on 3.x.

Thanks.

I’m trying to edit an existing course. It won’t let me add pages or activities. Pretty sure those features existed previously in whatever prior release.

Are you logging in as Chris Marlow? Is it a course you created that you are trying to change or one someone else created? I’m not well versed in Moodle permissions but I’m wondering if you need to manually be added as a ‘Teacher’ to any course you did not create. If I know the specific course I can look.

I am editing a course that I created.

Lost Wax Casting

Right now I have the course hidden so potential students don’t get confused with my in-process work. I’m guessing that with your privileges you can probably see it anyway.

It allows me to turn editing on … and I can edit exiting content but I can’t add lines to tables, I can’t add pages …

I might be OK here … there are still some things I cannot do but pretty sure I can work around those things to trick it into doing at least what I need …

1 Like

Need to discuss possibilities here, regarding creating a new course from an old course? I also need some discussion/advice. I’m modifying a course that some people have already completed. I’m adding sections, but the completion criteria are locked. Which makes sense …