Which CAD Program Does the CNC use?

Hey Guys,

I’m a newbie when it comes to both CNC and CAD, so please forgive if I asked some incredibly stupid questions.

That being said…

Which CAD program does the CNC router use?

Thanks,
Danny

My understanding is that CNC programs use g-code, not CAD programs. Parts are generally designed in CAD programs and then (usually) another program translates the geometry into tool paths etc. that are expressed in g-code. In Solidworks, for example, there is a plug-in/add-on that can be purchased that performs this function.

That being said, I’ve seen people use Vcarve for the Multicam (wood-cutting router). I’ve seen people using Solidworks’ add-on program for the Haas CNC mill.

1 Like

We’re in a bit of a flux for that right now actually. Before Fusion 360 changed their licensing, we used them for the classes and you could use that or whatever you like after you’re signed off.

We’re currently looking for alternatives, but Solidworks is a pretty good bet as members can request a version for free on a yearly basis.

The most important answer to your question is: We have a post processor that we know works “well enough” with Fusion 360 for our specific HAAS mill.

1 Like

Thanks Guys,

This gives me a starting point.

Cheers,
Smokey

Ps-

Do all of the CAD programs pretty much work the same?

Thanks again,
Smokey

They each have their advantages.

Some people like the community built around fusion and it’s collaboration stuff, but it’s not free for a lot of use cases. There are tons of lighter-weight programs like TinkerCAD as well.

Personally, since every member here gets a free copy of Solidworks to install at home (for non-commercial stuff) and a full premium copy to use via our jump server, there isn’t much of a reason to use anything else from my perspective. It’s extremely powerful.

2 Likes

If it were me, and I had it all to do again: