Where to shop for Components?

Hello all, I’m a newbie, just now realizing just how in over my head I am. I’ve spent the past couple of days trudging through enough online manufacturer’s pages, shops, search pages, etc. to make my head spin. I’m wondering if anyone knows any good shops in the DFW area where I can actually walk in, ask questions, and look at physical components so I can have a better idea of what I need to buy. I’m mostly looking for 6x6mm Tactile switches (in both top mounted and side mounted forms, both through-hole) and small JST connectors, from 2-5 pin positions.

1 Like

I wish, but not really. I think the closest we have these days is Altex, and that’s not at all close.

Take a look at Digikey. Their online search is much more well developed than Mouser. My normal mode of operation is to search on both, and look up price and availability on both. They are usually pretty close on both, but there are several times where they diverge wildly in either price or availability.

It’s certainly unfortunate that Tanners isn’t around anymore. 2 local large distributors are Allied & as Rich mentioned Mouser. However you wont be able to stroll in & start asking questions about the components. Another brick & mortar is Microcenter, although they have limited selection.

As far as asking questions, Id recommend coming in & starting a conversation with the different electronic folks.

2 Likes

Ok, thanks! My main problem with Digi-Key’s search is that it’s so complex. It’s really built for Electronics pros who know what they’re looking for, and my problem is I don’t quite know what exactly I’m looking for (exact part numbers, etc.)

For example, even if I find one JST connector that I think will work, how do I find the matching connector? I’m also thinking I’ll need vertical connectors on some boards, and 90 degree connectors on others…