Where can I film a short video with a green screen?

Hi!
I’m Kim and I’m a total noob at filmmaking, so forgive me if I’m asking something that has already been answered. I’m filming a series of comedic sketches that I wrote and I need to film one of them with a green screen, because it takes place in a supermarket. I am a makerspace member but my actors and crew are not.

1. Is there a room in the Makerspace I can use for a couple hours to film this sketch? I saw a video of someone painting a blue wall, is that something we can use as a green screen? How can I ensure there isn’t background noise while we’re trying to film?
  2. What kind of equipment does the makerspace have that we can use? What’s the policy for reserving a room or borrowing equipment? Can we bring our own equipment?

This is the sketch I want to film Sneaky Snacks YouTube.

Thanks so much!!!

There’s actually a “class” on the calendar on 2/2 to learn to set up our green screen.

I know nothing about the event but it sounds like you get to be the manual labor to help set up for a film that will be shot the following day, specifically focusing on the green screen setup. It sounds like a good opportunity to learn about the equipment have.

1 Like

Hi, I have another commitment during that class but I am interested in learning and watching them film. The class description says to send a message to jloukus on Talk, but I don’t see an option anywhere in Talk to send him a message. Is there a way to contact him directly? @jloukus I want to learn how to set up the green screen so I can film my own film using the green screen. Can you please help me understand the process?

Looks like you figured out how to tag him! In the class description he used the word “at” to represent the @ sign and that’s what you were missing.

1 Like

Here I am. I’m relatively new at the makerspace, but I’ve been doing chromakey work for decades, both professionally and for my own projects.