What is your weakness?

Given that we can’t be at the space to work on stuff, there is no reason we cant still try to work on skills.

One of my weaknesses is talking to people about money. Not things like committee balances or the costs of items to say committee members. More along the line of what things cost with a customer.

One of my weaknesses used to be talking to people & larger groups of people. I’m not where I want to be yet but I’m making progress.

To make yourself grow, you need to get out of your comfort zone. This is one of the things I have learned over the years doing what I do for a living. Ive been thrown into the proverbial fire to sink or swim. That tends to develop your skills as a problem solver in a stressful situation.

Also I have been yelled at, screamed at & de-escalate some customers who seemed bound to want to get into a physical altercation. Not sure how I take care of that part short of I don’t take things personally. That person could be in a bad situation themselves, under fire from their boss or customer as well. Sometimes they are just having a bad day.

So I ask, How can we collectively help each other be better at our weaknesses?

2 Likes

I like this! Self improvement is a lifelong endeavor.

I am more reactive than I want to be. Earlier today my dog went OFF out of nowhere because there were people outside the balcony. It’s something we have been trying to train out of him and it freaked me out to the point that I yelled at him pretty loudly…which is entirely unproductive and very unlike me, but I did it as a quick reaction rather than taking a second to pause.

That’s an extreme case, but I want to work on learning to pause before I react to things- good and bad.

If you’re talking presentation skills and speaking to large groups, I can help you with that. I’ve done audiences of up to 350 people. :slight_smile: