Welding Certificate

I’m a full time welder, but never got certified. I’m wondering if anyone here knows a inspector to contact about doing a certification test.

1 Like

@FriendlyTitan hasnt been to DMS in a while but he is a certified welder. @malcolmputer dad is a certified welder. @troyolivieri works for a welding supply.

Maybe one of them can chime in here.

1 Like

Also @davrynel is involved with AWS.

Also your certs expire, so you need to stay on top of it.

1 Like

Everyone I know just has it done as part of their job. I don’t know any inspectors.

1 Like

What are you trying to certify to?

Just as an FYI, welding certs in the US aren’t like licenses. As in once you have them you don’t get a card or something you can put down on a resume.

Any shop that does code work will require you to get qualified for the procedure, this is what people call “certified”.

If you want to pass say a d1.1 test you can say you’re “qualifiable/certifiable” for the procedure but if they are doing actual code work they will have you test at and accredited test facility or by a CWI on staff and log your test and qualify you for that process. If you need to do a different process outside the scope of your qualification then you would also be qualified to that.

If you just want to test to a specification to say you can do it I know a few people who may or may not charge for it.

1 Like

Meant to reply to @KrazyKars oops.

2 Likes

There are alot of places in the metroplex area, look up welder qualification and tou should be able to find some.

Ive sent someone here before Welder Qualification | Steel Inspection, Welder Qualification Testing: Dallas-Fort Worth, TX.

Most companies i deal with dont care about what cert you have… their gonna test you anyways…

2 Likes

For the record David was the first person I thought of but I couldn’t remember his talk handle