Using Benchtop Equipment in ELab?

Hi, I’m new to the space and was curious about the policies surrounding benchtop equipment in the Elab.

I’ve been messing around with generating some PWM signals with my MCU to drive some servos and could use an O-scope to look at some of the timing. I also have in interest in EE projects in general, so I’d love to be able to use the stuff in the lab from time to time.

I snooped around the wiki a bit, but couldn’t figure out the requirements on using the power supplies, signal generators, and oscilloscopes in the lab. Do I need to take a class or anything before I’m allowed into the lab to use that stuff or can I come into the Elab and use it anytime (as long as someone isn’t using them already)?

Thanks!

1 Like

As long as you are fooling with uComps and USB powered electronics, you’re pretty safe if you don’t have any training in Electronics. Youtube videos will probably be enough to guide you.

If you start plugging things into the wall power, or dealing with higher current circuits, you had best have some experience or formal training. I don’t know how many times I have walked in to see someone has left a large battery charging on the bench, with no current limiting resistor or fuse; this is a fire hazard.

Maybe we should schedule an O-scope and Measurements Class…If you can get at least 3 students, I will be happy to teach it.

4 Likes

Youtube videos are okay. But, I would stay away from using the Spectrum Analyzer until you get some one-on-one training. This piece of equipment looks similar to an O-Scope but operates in a different manner. Also, it has a very sensitive input that that easily be destroyed if not used properly. The input cannot be used with DC voltages, just trying to measure a standard 9 volt battery will destroy the input. The Spectrum Analyzer is one of the most expensive instrument in the E-Lab, please use with caution. Otherwise, enjoy using the vast assortment of test equipment in the E-Lab.

2 Likes