Tripod suggestion?

I’m seeking suggestions for a new tripod. Max weight it will hold is a DX format Nikon with a 300mm lens. It’s primarily for “studio” use but on occasions it needs to be toted around it has to be something that wimpy little me can carry.

I’ve had various tripods over the years and ultimately the various plastic parts (leg fasteners, for instance) just wear out, crack, break. Durability it important to me.

I’m not particularly looking for a super high end tripod nor a complete tripod system. Quick disconnect mounting is important.

1 Like

I’m a cheapskate photographer - I shoot Pentax, my fave wildlife lens is a cheap-ish used Sigma 170-500 zoom, I made my own light panel because I just couldn’t spend the money on a ready made one :smiley: .

This tripod has worked well for me. I admit I don’t abuse my equipment so I can’t attest to the durability. It is so much lighter than my old aluminum tripod it still surprises me. The ball head is not terrible and it comes with an arca-swiss compatible quick release.

I also use an older model of this gimbal head which really makes a difference with big heavy lenses:

You do have to disassemble the pivots and clean everything and regrease with a proper lithium grease to get smoother “stiction” movement but it’s serviceable for me.

2 Likes

I’ve always shot with a pan/tilt head (I’m not shooting video … either “studio” work or landscapes). I’m toying with the idea of a ball head (specifically this Oben BE-117. )

It has two bubble levels and an independent pan lock. Will this make me crazy trying to get it square/level? Am I better off with a pan/tilt head?

All advice appreciated.

EDIT: For comparison, I’m also considering this (way more expensive) Manfrotto XPRO 3-Way Pan/Tilt head.

Chris… by FAR the tripod I have enjoyed the most is my Alta Pro 263AT

It has a feature that you might really enjoy in that the center riser can be tilted.