Test the waters on upcoming projects in the blacksmith room

Howdy y’all,

Over the couple months I have gotten a lot of feedback on what we can work on in the blacksmith shop. With that being said I’m looking to move forward with some of the work. From projects like building new tools, Damascus and sand casting. While I’m not a professional blacksmith I am interested in making some awesome stuff that we can introduce to our side of the space. I’m wanting to have a class/get together to work on some of these items. Plus I think having a forging date would be a good time. Let me know what y’all think and if you have any cool ideas on what you know how to make or want to let’s chat and see if we can make some sweet pieces.

IMG_8672

IMG_8296

Like I said earlier I’m no expert but would definitely like to be.

3 Likes

To get more in-depth on the subject on blacksmithing. I have done a bit more digging on the subject of sculptures and ornamental iron and would like to get a few people interested enough to be able to develop something similar to these pictures below. These are made by an experienced blacksmith in Sweden that has his own shop and lots of years in the craft. With some help I think we can develop something similar to these with a few people interested and a little bit of time to prepare for drawing and getting supplies for the project. I would like to keep it simple and start with adding some intermediate classes on the event page to begin building the skills to develop such a sculpture. From shaping square or round iron and developing the basic shape of the legs and arms while including the toes and fingers. This will be something I will put some time into these next few weeks. I can go at it along or bring a few interested craftsmen with me and hope to build a beautiful piece we can showcase in the front room for visitors!

4 Likes