Spanish Classes

I am new to DMS space and eager to learn, but also to teach. My most genuine expertise is in language, namely Spanish.

I would be interested in organizing a class if this is something DMS members would be interested in.

Any feedback?

6 Likes

bring tacos ? everyone likes tacos!!

2 Likes

I know at one point in time someone was teaching sign language classes; it was my understanding they were very successful

2 Likes

I took Spanish in college but don’t remember it. I’d love to learn.

I’d be interested, and my non-makery husband said he’d be (and maybe this can be a DMS gateway drug for him…get a little too close to the Making Vortex and be assimilated…muahaha)

3 Likes

I could teach you how to order the best tacos.

2 Likes

That would be a great class: How to order tacos in Spanish without embarrassing yourself.

Success is subjective. The class went though things so fast that there wasn’t enough reinforcement to retain, Kimbers and I basically only where able to take away from the class our “abc’s”.

It would have to be a class series. Something like twice a week with practice exercises or something. I started with Rosetta Stone but it would be nice to have someone to talk with and learn more.

1 Like

have someone to talk with and learn more

That’s what I feel we do need more of with our classes. Sure the initial class is great and personally I’ve been using udemy for relearning español (took Latin in highschool).

If there was a spanish class then I’d be glad to attend with the caveat that there’s effort to reinforce the learning.

Good feedback.

I was an ESOL professor and the head of the Language department at universities in Mexico for 7 years. I learned Spanish at age eighteen and now speak on a near native level.

Reinforcing the basics and practice is the most useful thing we can do.

I will look into planning it.

4 Likes

I live in a heavy Hispanic area, I would like to be able to take advantage of the nice Hispanic meat market