Soldering class and project advice

I’ve got an audio DAC that I need to replace an IC in. Others have reported that the static/crackling/no playback issue we have with the model(s) is fixed by doing so. I believe this is an “SMD” chip.

Info:

Results:

Part:
https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Skyworks-Solutions-Inc/SI5351A-B-GT?qs=p9T7GgSe1IEO%2BMfC%2FKPFfA%3D%3D

I’d like to take the opportunity to both learn, as I’ve wanted to learn soldering for a long time, and fix my device.

I’ve already ordered a few of the 2$ ICs in case I screw it up. And already purchased another DAC so I’m not in a rush on this.

Are there classes for soldering, regular office hours, or anyone willing to take some time to look over the project with me and give advice and feedback?

I’m a complete newbie so even just throwing some learning materials at me would be helpful.

The next office hours I have will be the 27th from 6-8 PM. We should be able to knock this out.

Awesome, I’ll be there!

Oh wow… I didn’t realize how small the ICs would be.

Do I need to bring anything other than the gear? Happy to pick up anything I need to beforehand. I do have a soldering iron but I’ve never used it. No idea if it’s any good. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B082HP4513?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

Bring yours and we’ll find out. I should point out this is not a starter project

Yeah, I’m realizing that now that I see it. Lol.

I’ll bring what I’ve got then. Maybe some old stuff to practice de/resoldering as well?

Just an FYI, the slab Flattening Mill Class got scheduled for this same day at 6:30. I’ll still try to make it before and/or after but I don’t know how long that will take. And I really need to be there for that class as it’s my “primary” project at the moment.

Could i help?

I have smt projects. I am just suggesting this as a secondary help.

I’ll be in Wednesday evening of you want to try then

Sorry, not sure I follow. What kind of help are you offering?