Silhouette Cameo Questions

I tried to use the Silhouette Cameo last night (Tues 11/30) and I had a few problems. The most important one was that the blade was dull. Should I bring my own blade and try to change the blade? Is there a new blade in CA that I should try to change out to? I’ve never changed the blade before, but I could hopefully follow the instructions provided.

I also couldn’t get to my items in the Silhouette store; it wouldn’t let me log in. That was less of a problem since I was trying to cut a simple shape and just remade it in the studio software.

Thanks for any help!

I always bring my own blade for that reason. It isn’t hard to change them. I will be up there after lunch if you want help…you can also borrow one of my blades if needed

1 Like

Does the silhouette require training?

I do not think so…why?

I don’t think so. Maybe (way back) we decided it was too cheap (comparatively) to worry about breakage.

Just wondering. I’ve never used it before.

Tis easy…except i design in inkscape…then bring it into silhouette. I can show you if you need help.

Also…@laurakathleen…you might not be able to access the store because there isnt internet access on that computer…or at least there wasnt last week.

There might have been internet last night. The wiki sender-thingy in CA was being very spastic last week. It’s been replaced.

But – we might never have set that machine to have internet access.

1 Like

I spoke to Jay the other day about getting that design computer connected to the internet, so hopefully we can get that resolved soon.

As for blades, I don’t believe we have a stock of them anywhere in creative arts, though I haven’t actively searched for them. I can certainly order a couple for the cameo

3 Likes

I know I ordered blades for the vinyl cutter (Titan??), and those would probably be in the Teacher’s Cabinet. Nobody ever requested blades for the Cameo.