Shapeko 3 Question

Howdy Kevin!

Can the Shapeko mill EVA foam? If yes, what would be the thinnest material that it could cleanly mill?

The reason for the question is that I took a class on Bisque foam ceramics. They cut out (with exacto or scissors) by hand the templates from EVA crafting foam. Since I am not a true artist like the ladies in the class I was wondering if I could route the patterns instead.

Thank you in advance for your time.

Regards,
Michael Tebrinke

1 Like

Google “shapeoko eva foam” for a lot of links, text and video, on this topic. I think the key to success will be for you to purchase your own endmill optimized for that task and take good care of it.

1 Like

Yes it will but you need a very sharp end mill with the correct profile . Amazon is your friend . We do. It have Eva foam endlmills among our tooling collection . I will try to get one .

2 Likes

I just saw jay’s response . He is as usual 100% correct .

Thank you both!

I will look on Amazon and get the end mill.

Thank you again!

Please keep in mind that if you plan to route all the way through the foam (or anything else) you need to provide your own “spoilboard” so the end mill doesn’t damage the “table top” of the shapeoko.

2 Likes

Thank you John. Understood.

2 Likes

Would i want a up cut or a down cut bit?

And is there a certain diameter shank size i need to get?

Also, are we allowed to cut porcelain on the plastics Shapeko?

Thank you!

Porcelain whats? Tiles?

Yes porcelain tiles.

Usually you want a wet cut when you’re cutting porcelain, or any tiles.

Although, were you thinking an actual cut? or just drag-engraving?

So i am trying to combine two different activities i have recently learned here at the Space.

I took a great class on making Bisque plates using craft foam.

They use the thin craft foam as a template to first make an interior 1/4 inch center piece that you will later use as a press on the actual clay piece that will be your plate.