Radioactive Source

does anyone have Americium from the old smoke detectors or another Alpha Source?

I have some sources but Iā€™ll need to locate them as they are stored awayā€¦somewhere. If I can put my hands on them quickly, Iā€™ll let you know.

If anyone else has a hookup, please give a shout, itā€™s possible mine are tricky to get to up in the attic!

1 Like

I have an NRO Staticmaster (1U400) source with a certificate that you are welcome to. https://www.statictek.com/shop/staticmaster-1u400/

Looking at the price Iā€™m glad it was given to me. I canā€™t make it to DMS before tomorrow.

Russell Ward

2 Likes

Are you sure didnā€™t mean ā€˜Muricium?

3 Likes

hello sir, Iā€™m not sure what this is, but im looking for small radioactive sources esp Alpha.

It is ā€œmeasuring only 1.02ā€³ x .93ā€³ x .24ā€³ thick.ā€ and is an alpha emitter.
Model P-2042 Specifications

• ISOTOPE: Polonium-210
  • MATERIAL: Stainless steel housing, aluminum grid
  • EMISSION: Alpha
  • ACTIVITY: 500 ĀµCi
  • Weight: 0.4 oz. (11.3g)
  • OPTIMUM RANGE: 0.5ā€³ to 1.5ā€³

Russell Ward

2 Likes

Thank you sir, I dont really know what that is, some kind of ionizer or is it like a discrete part for a smoke detector? Thank you for your kind donation!

If you go to the website https://www.statictek.com/shop/staticmaster-1u400/ they have the complete specs. This is a picture of the item. It is used as an ionizer that is used to remove static electricity in precision lab scales and such.

It is 1" square and 1/4" thick - smaller than the picture.

Russell Ward

1 Like

Problem with the polonium-210 staticmasters is their very short half-life of less than a year.

When was this unit manufactured?