Questions about cnc level of detail

I’m interested in getting a cnc cut done (Already took the class, pending the in person test / clearance)

I’m curious about the level of detail possible on any of the cnc machines (including the new larger shapeoko coming up)

I’m hoping to cut something resembling the image below as a bed headboard. My plan is to cut it out of pink foam, and then do a cast. I was going to remove the large top and bottom straight sections as they add too much depth. Basically only the angels and flames would be still in.

I have lots of blender experience so I’ve already done a mock up of this model that is significantly less deep to reduce the level of Z travels.

Is this feasabile? how long would a cut like this take (in pink foam, or in other materials) am i in over my head? tell me stories!

Kee Fedak probably did the most detailed work on the multicam that has been done at DMS, so searching the forum for his work might be helpful…
Here’s one example…

1 Like

The MultiCam was made to cut stuff like this. The more important the detail, the smaller the step over needs to be. Pack a lunch. Maybe dinner and breakfast too. My 3x3" stamps can take as long as 6 hours due to a 4% stepover and a 1/16" ballnose. So extrapolate from there. And the detail is great when the endmill fits. Being larger you can probably go with a bigger endmill. My speeds for woods is usually between 100-150 IPM with no roughing due to the shallow depth. With foam you can probably do a roughing at 200 IPM or more before dropping speed and endmill. If you do it in Fusion do a rest machining process so that it doesn’t try to redo what it has already roughed out.
Cheers!

3 Likes

Thank you guys for the tips and feedback! I was already planning on just camping out but i might try to work out with another acquaintance that’s also multi cam cleared to cut in shifts.

1 Like

Check out this incredible 3D carved piece that Brian @tapper made: