Paper Making Class

I’m relatively new to DMS and I’ve mostly been in the ceramics section of the building. I was wanting to maybe host a recycled paper making class and was wondering if someone could help me figure out where the best place to hold it would be?
There’s quite a bit of water involved so I didn’t want to just pick a random classroom.

3 Likes

Room you go through from the Commons to the North area is supposed to be converted into a “Wet Classroom” - you may see the sinks etc. I’m not real sure what the status is.

Your class sounds awesome I’m sure a lot of people will want to take part in it. Thanks for wanting share your knowledge and creativity!

Anybody know what the exact status of that room is or when it’ll be ready?

1 Like

The wet classroom is not in service yet; the donated sink has not been connected yet.

1 Like

I used to make custom paper for various reasons. I would shred the recycled paper, then soak it in a distilled water bath, then put it in a blender and blend it to the pulp size I wanted and finally put it on a deckle that I made from door screen and wood. Then I would flip it onto a smooth or textured cloth depending upon my desired finish and let it dry. You can, of course, dye the paper or trim it according to your taste. The quality of the recycled paper used determines in a big way the final product quality though. The fun is in experimenting with it. The cost is almost free and it can be a lot of fun to make your own paper. Making a lot of it is definitely impractical though.

It was a lot of fun and I enjoyed experimenting with the process. I’ve made notebooks, special greeting cards etc from the paper.

I would love to see you teach a class.

That’s basically how I’ve been doing. I like to use mica powders to dye it and get a lot of pastel colors that way.