Newbie question, automobile maintenance

Hi!
Ricky here, what a fascinating place I’ve discovered in Dallas Makerspace!
I am an aircraft structures mechanic but almost never work on cars. I want to learn, however, to do DIY on my car.
Is there a workspace available with a lift to do work on one’s own automobile that might take an entire day to complete?
Are there people available who can assist someone who’s fairly confident in doing the work but wants guidance & help, perhaps one who’s always there at first? If it’s appropriate, acceptable and within any policy, I would make it financially well worth someone’s time in helping me.
Mainly I’d like to know if a workspace is available. I’m flexible with schedule, anytime in the 2 week period starting Monday, August 7th.
Thanks!
Ricky S

2 Likes

First off - I’m not that person. However – there is an area. Right now we’ve got room for 2 cars, and there’s one lift. You do need to plan for things that can be finished in one day, though. You can’t (shouldn’t) leave the car here when you’re not working on it, and the rules from the landlord say that you can’t leave a car over 24 hours in the parking lot. You can leave to get parts or food (leave a note with your name, phone number and when you expect to return on the windshield).

4 Likes

Also, not it, but…
Yes. We have several members who enjoy automotive work and will likely be willing to assist.
However…

Knowing more about WHAT it is we’re doing to WHICH vehicle might help some folks be more enthusiastic about the project… DIYing an oil change is much different than DIYing a transmission overhaul, for example, while in the latter category a TH400 is a different animal than an Audi 01J.

3 Likes

Ricky,