New to DMS, what class is req'd for laser cutting, and time session limits?

Hello! I’m thinking to get a DMS membership specifically to laser cut fabrics for art. Can you please tell me as of January 2024, what class is required to use laser cutters? (I have a lot of previous experience) When is the next one and how do I sign up? Super important, what is the limit on a laser cutting session? It’s a long commute so I want to know how many pieces I can cut per trip. I am looking to use the the Thunder Laser Nova 63 and 35 for large scale fabric cuts. I can come in at odd hours when it’s not busy. Thank you so much!

1 Like

The required classes are both fairly simple online classes at learn.dallasmakerspace.org. You have to pass with 100% on the quiz, but that’s not as hard as it may sound. You’ll have access to learn once you sign up.

3 Likes

Ive been working on fabric cutting with the laser, let me know if you need help. I’ll be up at DMS on Thursday or we can arrange a time.

What is the content of your fabric? So.e materials should not be cut on the laser.

1 Like

The 65 is out of commission for at least another month, it’s getting a total rebuild.

1 Like

We charge $1 per 5min of laser firing time.
I believe the 35’s are least busy during the workday and late night.

In general, DMS isn’t for commercial use. If this is for one big project, r prototyping- that’s ok, but if you’re precutting for your clothing business and it’s ongoing, that’s commercial use, and we aren’t set up to be a businesses’ primary means of production.

3 Likes

It seems like at one time your time limit was 1 hour. We don’t seem to be that busy of late. As I understand it, you’d get an hour, and then whenever the next person showed up, you should finish the current job and take a breather.

There are two factors; the posted rules and peer pressure associated with being excellent to each other.