New to Dallas maker space

Hey everyone,
I’m new to the maker space community.
I am a high school ceramics teacher at wt white high school and I am really excited to use the facility.
I have a small studio setup at my home with a wheel
What I was wondering is how dose the firings take place? Is there a shelf you leave stuff on? And are there certain days or times you guys fire?

Thank you for the help

1 Like

I don’t hang out in ceramics much, but I believe the answer is “as often as needed” and there’s a set of shelves for the different types of firings, and people who volunteer to move stuff from the shelves to the kilns and back from time to time.

Hey! You might be a new volunteer!

1 Like

We have a shelving system. There’s a set for greenware-ready-to-fire, finished bisque, glazed-ready-to-fire, plus the Work-in-progress shelves.

Yeah, we fire when we’ve got enough. Our kilns (at least 2) are a decent size, but by no means large, so that’s not a huge amount of ware. Right now may be a smidge “special” since folks are just trickling back. We were firing each type 2-3 times a week before the closure. I haven’t been back to look, but folks are working, so probably at least one bisque and one glaze a week until everybody feels comfortable coming back out of their hidey-holes.

1 Like

Ok sounds good. Is there a way to be a part of the firing team?

The Firing Team has been pretty much come-one-come-all-unless-the-powers-that-be-don’t-like-you. So, odds are good that you could do that. Come to our Committee Meeting on July 1st. Up in the big front lobby room if you’re comfortable showing up in person, or the call-in numbers are listed on the event calendar if you’d prefer the remote version. We’ll be practicing social distancing, so I consider it safe. I, on the other hand, am not overly paranoid. I do the mask and the distancing and hand-washing. It will be a good way to meet a selection of us.

Welcome Tracy!