New smith needs clearance

I hope I’m posting in the right place! I contacted DMS a short time ago about doing some bladesmithing, and a couple of weeks ago I took a tour and joined as a member. My understanding from that tour is that I need to find a time to meet with one of the smithing reps and get cleared to use the forging tools and trusted not to harm myself/others/the building. I am quite new to smithing so this would also help me make sure I’m not missing anything.

1 Like

@coloneldan Teaches a lot of the prereqs for blacksmithing, maybe you can do a 1:1 with him?

There are generally classes every week or so and open forge is every month, so you can sign up for them when they’re open.

Thanks for tagging me. There are several of us that teach blacksmithing and can qualify you on the tools.
I usually teach a class every Tuesday night, but I’ve been slammed of late. The important thing is to get familiar with the tools and observe our safety rules.

Show up to the open forge this Sunday at 10:00AM and introduce yourself. Even though there are no more slots in the class we call it open forge because you don’t have to be in class to use the tools and forges.
You won’t get the same instruction or materials but you can bring your own.

There should be some blacksmiths there to help you. You can also come to the blacksmithing meeting on Tuesday night at 7PM

https://calendar.dallasmakerspace.org/events/view/19418

Thank you! I will try to come on Sunday. I don’t have any steel of my own with me at the moment. I wanted to get cleared before I grabbed some. I also don’t have my own hammer yet because I suspect my arm strength will change a lot during the first few months/years of smithing and the ideal weight for me today won’t be ideal later. I have an apron, gloves, and both eye and ear protection.