New interest group - FreeCAD

Let me start by saying, I am just starting to learn this product, so I am no expert or able to teach. But I have a suspicion that while we may have members with some experience with this software, no one feels qualified to teach it.

So I am proposing a new interest group that will focus on collectively learning (and eventually teaching) this open source parametric design tool. Specifically how to use it to design parts. How to have those parts milled on the HAAS (or other CNC machine) or have them 3D printed.

I would envision us learning by coming up with simple projects that we each take a part for and design, prototype (3D print), then perhaps mill. We would start simple, then work our way to more complex things as we learn the software.

Anyone interested?

4 Likes

I have been experimenting with FreeCad and have done some crude designs (Cell phone holders), and have printed them.

A friend of mine(a fellow member), designed this part in FreeCad to fix his wife’s hair dryer:

I printed it on my Printrbot and it came out pretty good.

1 Like

count me in
got freecad 13/14 (depends on which machine)
done a few of the training exercises I found on youtube
very much need to “graduate” to the ability to pluck something out of my head and put it into the software…
My only other CAD experience was about 15 years ago with AutoCAD v 14. Absolutely loved every minute of that technical drawing chapter, but never have gotten back to doing anything with it, no matter how hard I try…

Maybe this is a stupid idea, but it was where I wanted to start and have had trouble “stepping up”.
As you know, if you have done the HAAS training, they have “the domino”. You probably also know about the “set of 4” that Bryan tried at some point in the past. I wanted to use the “4 in one” setup, make a complete set of dominoes. Step 1: create all 28 of the double-six dominoes required in CAD, sets of 4, then put them into the HAAS 1 set of 4 at a time.