Need Some Advice From Auto Folks

The clutch on my 2004 Honda Accord finally gave out this weekend. Annoying, since it’s been sitting for months because the alternator died and I just replaced it and got it running again a couple of weeks ago, but it happens. I knew it was going to go out eventually.

I’m relatively new to the space, and haven’t been able to get through the automotive shop to get signed on the equipment like the lift yet. Would it be possible to arrange to meet up with someone from the committee (or otherwise qualified) to get signed off on any tools I need sometime soon? I can definitely compensate for the time.

Also, any advice on the repair is welcome. I have quite a bit of experience through my life as a mechanic (helicopters, forklifts, tractor trailers, machinery, etc), but haven’t done a ton of work on cars. I’m comfortable with it with the right tools and instructions/references, and I have a friend who also has some experience who’ll be helping me out. I wanted to check that doing the clutch replacement would be something I would conceivably be able to do in the space. I’d like to if it’s possible, to save myself some money, and get an opportunity to get hands-on with my car, which I always appreciate.

So, Motorsports normally meets on Thursday nights. This week they’re heading to a race, though. @Bizwacky says that they’ll be back next Thursday, 4/27. The group meets at 7 pm, but they like to do the lift training around 6:30 or so.

2 Likes

I have never done one, but it appears that this one should be external to the bell housing, and possibly not that bad aside from the usual need to bleed the system.

Some others have used a coaxial or conventional cylinder inside the bell housing, and they are a project on a whole different level.

1 Like

Thanks! That should be good, i gotta wait for my tax return to hit before i can get the parts anyway lol

Yeah it looks pretty straightforward. Having the right tools makes all the difference lol