My second 3D printer just died

Ender 3 pro. It seems to be a thermocouple issue, it keeps alarming out due to a thermal runaway. The first one that died is sitting in a unused storage space. I have ordered a new print head with the thermocouple attached. I am willing to pay for anyone who can help me get this fixed. For those who don’t know me I am a disabled older lady paralyzed on the left side due to a stroke, during my working life I was a machine maintenance tech. If this repair works, I would be willing to buy the parts for the second printer, get it repaired, and donate it to the space if they want it. I live in Garland Help?

Often it’s just the thermistor wire shorting to the heat block where it gets pinched by a screw. Firmware recognizes “no signal from the thermistor” plus “nozzle heater active” as a potential bad thing. Rightly so.

1 Like

I’d be inclined to agree, the thermistor is a fragile beastie.

Back in my working days, I drilled the hole in the plate or block that was being heated it was just big enough for the thermocouple wire and ball. If it wasn’t too hot I would use RTV or some other high temp adhesive to keep it in place. The parts should arrive today. If I had both hands this would be a no brainer, but there is no way I can do this repair by myself, like I said I am willing to pay for the labor.

In my previous job of being a machine maintenance tech I would Weld mount thermocouple balls using thermocouple wire. It is not that difficult with the right tools.

Well the parts just came in. And I now have a contact information for a place that sells parts. Since I don’t have much else to do my next step is to find out what kind of thermocouple it is. I went ahead and ordered this:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07K72JDJB?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2_dt_b_product_details

my sense is this will not be the first thermocouple I have to replace. So I’m going to try to make it easy for myself in the future.