My Glazing Plans

Hey everybody!

I started at the studio kinda recently and I’ve had a growing interest in producing my own glazes, something I’ve never done before. I know there is a Glaze SIG in the works but I’ve already bought all my own raw materials and equipment. It should all arrive around next Tuesday and depending on my work schedule I’ll be in the studio around that time mixing up some of my first test batches. If anyone is interested in watching me mix up some glazes (outside), wants to track my results, or wants to offer any advice I’ll be updating it in this thread.

I’m planning on producing the following recipes from glazy:

I also have a small air compressor and a spray gun. I will attempt to set up a very basic spray booth outside in the parking lot once my test tiles come out and if anyone else is interested in doing some spray application I’d be happy to share my equipment. I’ve heard that there is a spray booth floating around but after sleuthing through some old threads it seems like there wasn’t anywhere to vent the exhaust and little space to accommodate it.

I have done spray application before but again I’ve never produced my own glazes so I might not be able to answer anyone’s questions but maybe we can learn together.

– John

3 Likes

Making your own glazes is super satisfying! I just got 50lbs in of rice hulls to turn into ash for an attempt at C6 compatible Nuka glaze. @Liamluu, @Steve1 and I are going to tackle it post Thanksgiving if you want to dive in with us. Basic triaxial blend to work on the melt.

2 Likes

That sounds really cool, I’d love to help out.

So, the thought that has run through my head with all the talk of mixing glazes here at DMS is:

What will we be doing for ventilation safety? It is my understanding that one can produce a cloud of toxic dust, etc., unless things are properly ventilated.

1 Like

I’m going to be doing it outside with a respirator on. Once it’s all mixed up it will be fine

3 Likes