MIG welding training

Hi, newbie here. I would like to learn MIG welding for a quick project. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Keep an eye out on the calendar for the welding classes and related safety classes. There’s safety class tomorrow but it’s full.

https://calendar.dallasmakerspace.org/events/view/16507

MIG is under Metal shop

1 Like

Additionally if you come for the monthly cleanup/committee meeting, I make a point to teach anything in the metal shop for volunteers on the spot.

It’s the first Saturday of every month starting at noon.

Otherwise, keep an eye out for those classes on the calendar.

4 Likes

I scheduled a mig class for next sunday, it will show up on the calendar Wednesday about 5:15pm. If you haven’t had hot process class come to the metalworking committee meeting next Saturday for that

So, while you won’t be able to sign up for the Hot Process safety, there’s actually a cancellation that you could fill. I promise to add you to the AD group. That’s providing that you can show up tomorrow at 1pm.

Have you gotten a working fob/card yet?

Awesome!! Thanks.

Perfect! I’ll see you there tomorrow.
Thank you!!

1 Like

Yes my card works now.

1 Like

That’s this Saturday at noon?

I don’t see it on the calendar but should be this coming Saturday. @hon1nbo will confirm

Yes this Saturday.

I’ll post it shortly on the calendar and on talk

2 Likes

I am coming to that cleanup. Do i still need to go to the MIG class if you teach there?

Also i was wondering where you might recommend i find these items i will need to get

-Fire resistant or cotton face mask.
-Leather welding gloves, mid weight
-Leather closed toe shoes or preferably boots (cheapest option please)

I know the teacher in the safety class mentioned some places to get the mask and gloves yet i did not have a chance to write that dow.

Thank you.

The class I give at the event is equivalent to the normal class.