Making our own glaze

Hello! I’m new to the ceramics space at DMS ( excited to start making pottery here <3 ) , so this might be something that has already been discussed, but I’m curious as to why we don’t make our own glazes. Most other pottery studios I’ve been to have bucket glazes that they mix by buying the ingredients dry. This ends up saving money since they’re not paying for water weight. Mixing our own glazes would mean that we don’t have the variety that we get with the bottles, but it might make sense to make our clear glaze since I’m sure we run through bottles of that. I’m curious what others think!

We actually have a bucket of clear glaze.

Oh lol nevermind - I thought the only glazes were the ones in the bottle on the wall

Part of the issue is that not everyone likes the same types of glazes so people usually end up buying/making their own, so we only make the clear glaze in house. The other thing is that we are a volunteer run studio so managing a stock of ingredients and making sure they are not contaminated is a bit of a challenge.

However, that doesn’t mean that there isn’t interest in making glaze. Last month Liam taught a class on Gloop Glaze that was very popular: Events |Dallas Makerspace Calendar

If you would like to see more classes like this or have ideas on how to make custom glazes more readily available for the space feel free to come to the next ceramics committee meeting tomorrow
https://calendar.dallasmakerspace.org/events/view/22191

4 Likes

I think space to store the chemicals and health issues would also be a consideration in an open warehouse space. Every studio I have been a member of that mixed their own glazed had a room that the door could be closed. People would need to wear a respirator to not breathe in floating dust. A respirator while throwing would not be comfortable. How far in an open werehouse would chemical dust float?

3 Likes