Making my Introduction to the Digital Media discussion group

Greetings all,

I’m Rob (Phillips). I’m a non-traditional student, in that I have been a computer software developer/consultant for most of my life, then things changed. I got into the industry when a degree was not the most important thing and I was always on the ‘bleeding edge’ with my knowledge and skills. Then manythings changed at once and I found myself sitting on the bench.

So, after 20+ years in that game, I decided to pursue commercial photography and found that I loved art and pursued a formal degree (bachelor of fine art) at Texas A&M - Commerce. Loved it so much, I went right into grad school (for a master of fine arts degree). Two years in at the end of this semester. 1-2 left.

Anyway, as an overview, I am quite diverse in skills and knowledge, and will certainly have fun with you all at Dallas Makerspace. I have a lot of knowledge with Adobe software, entry level stuff like Glowforge, and AnyCubic 3D printers. I do tig welding, though still developing that skill, a little wood work, do some work with Arduino and Rasberry Pi boards…looking to do much more… I make art in multiple mediums, but principally my style is sculpture integrating video and tech.

Relevant: I make videos, and am versed in Adobe Premiere Pro, and After Effects; I spent 8 years on the production side as well, as a producer and director of live multimedia events for a mega church (hope that will not cause anyone to judge me :smile: ). Im no expert, but I have strong skills and a wide base of knowledge.

I am looking to get some high quality work done in 3D printing, and a good bit of metal work (plasma cutting and welding of small gauge steel sheet and 1 and 2" strapping and tubes and pipes. Actually my current project will also integrate some very small (1.25-1.5") video capable screens, with arduino or python control. I think I have seen some presented on Adafruit youtube channel.