Looking for Rocketry/Satellite Projects

Hey everyone. I am posting to see if anyone is currently working on projects related to rocketry, satellites, or anything space related.

I am a software engineer and am hoping to find some folks to build space + spaceflight related projects with. It would be interesting to build something like a LEO satellite and raise funding to launch on one of the ride share launch providers out there (SpaceX Falcon 9, Rocket Lab Electron).

This post is super broad so feel free to reach out to brainstorm some interesting project ideas!

4 Likes

What does it cost to do something like that (the launch, not the satellite itself)?

1 Like

@mdredmond , The cost for a 50kg satellite on a falcon 9 ride share to sun synchronous orbit is $275k and “similar prices” for LEO. Here is the source for that: SpaceX

Definitely a large chunk of change, but maybe a compelling enough mission would draw the interest of potential donors.

@try_reboot, Check out the chat log from last night’s RBNV meeting at 8:01 pm.

There was as interesting discussion about the possibility of launching a CubeSat.

RBNV – Robot Builders Night Virtual – January 31, 2023 - dprg.org

The video of the meeting will be out on YouTube in a week or so.

Some interesting links…including a site where you can buy a CubeSat(?):

CubeSat - Wikipedia

List of CubeSats - Wikipedia

CubeSatShop.com - One-stop webshop for CubeSats & Nanosats

1 Like

@David_Steele Great thank you for the heads up. I also brought this up at science committee Sunday Jan 29 and there is a lot of interest. I am going to begin putting together a strategy shortly and will check out that convo above.

1 Like

Have you checked out the North Texas Tripoli Prefecture?

It’s not satellite/space related but it’s serious “amateur” rocketry. Dunno if anyone in the local prefecture is serious enough to launch at Balls, but it’s worth checking out.

3 Likes