Legislative Advocacy Class

Hey, It’s January of an odd numbered year, and that means that the Texas State Legislature is coming to session for the next few months. I worked as a district and capital legislative aide for the 2011 session and would like to offer insight into how best to advocate to the legislature by a variety of means of communications about policy issues that may be important to you.

I scheduled the class for 01/23/2017 and am waiting on confirmation. This seemed like an appropriate forum to drum up interest and solicit input.

Thanks
Alex “Context” Head

2 Likes

Is it going to be even on the advocacy, or tilted to one side or the other?

DMS shouldn’t be pushing either sides agenda, and the membership as a whole seems to get along pretty well, even with widely varying political stances.

6 Likes

Sounds like an interesting class, Alex. My schedule is about to go haywire but I might try to make it. I know of a couple that might be interested also, schedule allowing.

:confused:

:thinking: :confused:

1 Like

Pretty sure that was a typo and she meant “couple”…

2 Likes

@jast fixed. My autocorrect doesn’t work in the talk forums for some reason. Sorry it was such a big deal. Thanks @merissa for using common sense and knowing what I meant 🖒

1 Like

Nothing about the course as described suggests a specific political agenda but rather a how-to guide for anyone wishing to engage with the legislature.

2 Likes

Which is why I asked… I didn’t want to jump to a conclusion.

One of the areas that 501(3)© organizations can get into trouble is political activity.n An education class that has NO tie in no a cause or position and is neutral is okay. But if the class is used for promoting or recruiting for a cause it could be trouble.