Laser etch a PCB (printed circuit board)

Hello DMS forum,

Working on a project that uses a motion detector and an integrated circuit chip called a 555 timer to
turn on LEDs to light a staircase.

The project has been designed, breadboarded and built on a prototype board. The next step is a PCB. When i was a MakerSpace newb i think someone said that there is a capacity for etching circuit boards. Does anyone know who might have knowledge of this domain?

Thanks.

Allen Pitts
469 713 4147
PS I know it will have to wait until the MakerSpace opens up after COVID19 but perhaps a dialogue could be begun in this forum or via email.

2 Likes

All of our lasers are CO2 and can’t directly remove the copper from a PCB.

@Team_Electronics has been working on a CNC Router designed for simple PCBs, they can chime in here and talk a bit about the status of the machine and how it might work for your application.

1 Like

They can be used to make a mask for etching a pcb. https://youtu.be/RdNarKerZn0

1 Like

Which is why I said ‘directly remove the copper’…

1 Like

@Team_Science used to have a class on etching PCBs chemically.
@Josh_Melnick taught it at one point.

Here’s an old class entry: https://calendar.dallasmakerspace.org/events/view/8170

2 Likes

PCB Mill SIG
at Team_PCB_Mill

1 Like

Hello Josh_Bishop, michaelb, Bernard_Gray, and artg_dms,

Guess I better order some more ferris chloride.

Thanks for your feedback.

Allen Pitts

Some things you might want to consider.
If you’re using through hole components and overall size is not critical, do your build on perf board and call it good. Especially if you’re building only 1 or 2 units.
If size is critical (ie using smd parts) and / or you’re building many units then a pcb is worth the trouble.
On the other hand if you’re looking to gain pcb design / layout experience - have at it!
All depends on what your end goals are.
At one time Science had the chemistry for etching pcb boards. Not sure if they still do.