Is there a need for a audio/recording engineer?

I recently joined up with the makerspace after moving from new orleans. I have extensive experience with recording in both studio and live settings as well as a hefty knowledge of digital/analog interfaces. I’m happy to instruct and assist with projects as my free time allows!!
Hoping to get some classes on cnc or woodworking tools to begin making guitars and electric bari ukes, but man those fill up fast!

4 Likes

Are you in the space? Could you stop by digital media?

No, but I can be by tomorrow or thursday

1 Like

Welcome to MakerSpace. Don’t know if you’ve considering teaching any classes, but if you ever do any on mixing, that’d be great.

What post software packages are you familiar with?
I’d love to see a “ProTools First” (it’s the free version of PT) class.

1 Like

There is an intense interest in getting competent audio recordings of organizational meetings - i.e. Board Meetings and Member Meetings.

2 Likes

Mixing is a huge world, I could either do a quick and dirty one hour seminar about the mixing tools, or a 4 day experience. It all depends on what you’re mixing for.

I’ve used Logic ProX, Audacity, Studio one, and I’m certified in ProTools. I’d be happy to help out giving a intro level class for protools first.

In what sense, recording minutes for archives? how often and intense are these needs?

There’s interest in recording the entirety of the audio for archival purposes as well as giving those not in attendance context which terse meeting minutes do not capture.

Board meetings occur ~monthly. The setup unfortunately needs to be mobile since meetings can occur in any of our larger rooms.