Inkscape 1.0 beta - MacOS support

After decades, Inkscape is finally approaching version 1. It emerged from alpha to beta and is undergoing testing.

The most impactful change i see is native support for mac osX. No longer do you need to use the older version 0.92.2 & xquartz (this is no longer supported in the current release of mac os as they move to only 64 bit apps) or run it as a windows app in parallels or bootcamp.

Installation is very straight forward. I am new to mac os x and was able to figure it. Attached is a super handy video how-to.

Release highlights and details:
https://wiki.inkscape.org/wiki/index.php/Release_notes/1.0
Some changes I really like are:

1. changing the y axis so the origin is in the upper left
  2. making all lines visible
    Visible Hairlines Display Mode
    "This new display mode is available in the menu under “View > Display Mode > Visible Hairlines”. It ensures that all lines of nonzero width are visible (with a minimum visible line width), regardless of zoom level, while still drawing everything else normally.
    “This is especially useful for some CNC machines like laser cutters and vinyl cutters which use hairlines to denote cut lines.”
  • esp handy for the epilog zing

Big changes to the Live Path Effects.
Some neat effects here are:

1. Mirroring
  2. Rulers!! Create custom rulers along any path in your choice of units and marks
  3. Embroidery Stitching. WHAT???
  4. Fillets and Chamfers!!!
  5. Hershey text - vast new powers

Theming
Template creation - saving your settings is now easy, with the ability to save several templates/default doc settings.

100s of updates!