I'm willing to teach welding classes

I have a diploma in welding and joining technology and I’m willing to teach. Who can I talk to about getting checked off on the equipment to accomplish this.

5 Likes

@Malcolmputer maybe you can help guide him to the right person/process.

We’re always happy to have welding teachers. Here are the steps ahead of you if you’re interested.

1. Talk to @TBJK and/or @dallasmagna about your history and make sure you know who they are. They are the current vice chair and chair of the Metal Shop.
  2. Take the DMS Welding Safety Class (required to weld at DMS regardless of your experience.)
  3. Take the welding process class for each process you’d like to teach. You have to know how we teach the class to be able to teach it. We currently have the setup to weld MIG, TIG, and Stick/Arc.
  4. Teach a DMS Welding Safety and/or DMS Welding Process Class (MIG/TIG/or Stick) with one of the current teachers or chairs so we can watch you and give feedback.
  5. Start teaching. Put something on the calendar, and enjoy having full classes within 24 hours of posting them!

It’s a bit of a process, but it’s the one we got.

If you have any other questions let me know and I’ll be happy to help you out.

4 Likes

Has there been a Metal Shop Meeting since April 8? I asked about one on May 4, and haven’t heard anything yet. Doesn’t look like there’s anything on the calendar. I really wanted to talk about this in committee, but since that’s not an option, here goes:

I think the availability of welding classes is an area that we as a group need serious work on. These are training required tools that are promoted to new and prospective members as great reasons to join the space that we don’t train on with any regularity. As a result, these people are presented a false bill of goods. Put simply- it’s not fair.