⚡ High Voltage!

Hello! This is my first time posting to any of the forums because I guess I suck. :smiley: I would like to experiment with a 400V DC circuit and I want to find out how I can do this here safely, without crossing any rules or guidelines and without frightening anybody. Aside from basic safety, I figure I can also either cordon off the area when I’m working on or put up some “high voltage” signs or something?

This will be the first phase in developing an adjunct battery system for Nissan Leaf cars. I’m going to start with a battery array with an impractically low capacity for sheer simplicity and price – so far I’ve found a 3.2V 8Ah pouch cell I can assemble into a 3kWh array for about $600. This will be plenty for developing and testing the battery controller with bidirectional charger/discharger circuit, which I’ll be home-rolling. (This unit will only discharge through a current-limited, bucking converter.)

My testing for phase 1 will only involve charging and discharging with a dummy load and making sure that current both ways matches what the controller computer is dictating.

How should I proceed?

1 Like

When i worked on high voltage. I can only the common stuff i pretty sure you know.

1: We used the one hand rule. Never touch live units with twos hands. Arking through heart will most like damage or kill you. Clip common ground lead in before you power up.

2: Never use ground straps in test. Arching grounding straps will hurt you

3: Volt test large capacitor after electrical testing unit under test. Discharge charge capacitor with any high voltage and large capacitance through on mega ohm 1 watt.

1. wear some thing over you face. pcb can explode if a lot of power burns out the traces.

2. if you are lithium batteries ohhh

6: see oz or art?

Thanks. After I posted, I realized that the first step is writing out and implementing a safety plan, including all of your items above.