Help and Question on 3D Printing

Hello, I’m a new member just wondering if someone can tell me if I can bring my own 3D printer and filament so I can used? I was looking up what filament we can used on the 3D FAB printers. I’m a beginner at 3D printing. I want to learn how to use a filament called Polypropylene. I already did my Polyprinter basic online with 100%. If someone can show me or help me I would appreciate it.

@delpn … I know Luiz is offering to bring his own printer, but would the Rostock be capable of / permitted to print Polypropylene filament?

Just wondering… what is the benefit of bringing your own printer vs using it at home? Is it a space thing?

Additionally, if you’re new to printing, I would strongly suggest starting with something other than polypropylene. It’s a challenging material to get printed properly, especially without an enclosure, which I’m assuming you won’t have if you’re bringing your own machine. Even ABS has problems with warping and can cause people a lot of problems… and PP is worse. If you’re using your own equipment, I would suggest you just start with plain ol’ PLA. It’s forgiving, doesn’t smell bad, doesn’t need an enclosure to print properly (because of smell and heat / warping), and does most of what you would want a print to do. If you’re using one of the DMS machines, you’re going to have to go with ABS instead.

1 Like

Ok I see PLA is easier to used and I can learn with that filament use my experience to then use PP. Or is it better to use ABS learn from that since it almost has the same warping problems?.

Well I know it a space thing and everyone can use the 3D printers. But I think since I’m a beginner I don’t want the printers to be out of commission and then members would be able to use the printers.