Hello! New Art teacher

Hi everyone! I’m Gena. I’m a visual artist and just joined the DMS tonight, referred from my friend and fellow teacher Megan.

I’m a modern calligrapher, and also love drawing, watercolor and other visual arts.

I plan on setting up an intro to calligraphy class soon to go over different calligraphic fonts, supplies and the basic strokes. Then I hope to move into teaching modern and bouncy calligraphy and maybe some older scripts if there is a demand.

Also would love to teach drawing. Intro to drawing with still life’s as well as moving into how to work with 1pt and 2pt perspective, shading and lighting. Also thought of a color theory class, with basic color and how to mix and use color in painting (watercolor or acrylic)

So excited to join this group and looking forward to meeting more or you and learning some new art classes!

Feel free to say hi!

-Gena

20 Likes

Welcome to DMS! My name is Shelby and I am also new here :slight_smile: I think all of those sound like great ideas! I would love a color theory class and especially stuff like using values in non traditional color schemes. I also am very bad at mixing acrylic and oil paints after being used to watercolor for so long

3 Likes

So excited you joined!!!
Calligraphy and intro to any art would be amazing!!!

2 Likes

Can’t wait to meet you! I hear you about acrylic! I have a temperamental relationship with acrylic which is why I stick with watercolor but we can totally work on a color theory class! We can start basic with color wheel discussion and basic mixing on the Red-yellow-blue primary colors since there is arguments on other color wheels (RGB, Hexagons, etc) and we can stick with the most basic

:slight_smile:

Welcome welcome!!

I’m super excited to meet you all, if you need any help setting up a class, or if you have unanswered questions etc, please send me a message and I’ll do what i can to answer.