Hail damage, need new roof, had a question

Insurance says they’ll pay for a new roof, so that’s good, and there’s enough ancillary cosmetic stuff so our deductible should be covered, so that’s good.

All the roofers I’m talking to say, “hey let’s see your paperwork from the insurance and we’ll get your bid to you,” and even the insurance company says “show this estimate to your contractor.”

Is it typical to show the roofing contractors the insurance estimate when getting bids? I work in healthcare insurance fraud (hmm, maybe I should rephrase that), and that sounds rife for abuse. But if that’s what one does then that’s what we do I guess.

I just had a roof put on my home. I have a friend I’ve known for 35 years who represents a company who roofs homes. He and I have been members of the same church for a very long time. The company he represents did an outstanding job, too.

He asked for the estimate from USAA because he said he wanted to save us the deductible and he did. Essentially, the roofing appraisers are very close to the cost of replacing a roof. Some shingles will actually lower your insurance costs, too.

If you want my friend’s name shoot me an IM and I’ll pass along his contact info.
He also represents fence companies, painters, etc.

1 Like

No there is no reason to show them what your insurance company is going to pay.

That is your option.

USAA is great.

2 Likes

Totally agree, that’s who we have. They were awesome when we had a water leak last year.

I didn’t have to show my claim to the guy who did my roof, but he is a friend and he said he could save me the deductible and he did.

Hey James,
I also have a friend that is an honest Roofer, his name is Bob with T-Rock Roofing, 407-256-1532.