Gauging Interest in a Class on High-Performance Computing

Hello, I have been using the Dallas Makerspace for some time now and wish to give back to the community. My background is in scientific computing. I have some ideas for a class to teach people how to improve the performance of their code.

In general, this class would be useful to those with some prior programming experience and who write code which requires at least 15 minutes to run or which runs for more time than it took to write. Developers of embedded systems may also find this useful to solve a complex problem with a small computer.

Please indicate any topics in the poll which interest you, and any comments or suggestions are welcome. :slight_smile:

• Computational Complexity and Time Requirements
  • Comparison of parallel processing paradigms and hardware
  • A practical guide to finding the bottleneck in your code
  • Shared Memory Parallel Processing (aka SMP/Multithreading)
  • Building a job queue server (SLURM)
  • Building a virtual machine environment (ESXi)

0 voters

In what operating environment does your program run?

• Windows
  • Mac
  • Linux
  • Cross-Platform
  • Mobile
  • Web
  • Embedded Systems

0 voters

What is your preferred development language?

• C/C++
  • Python
  • Java
  • Ruby
  • Perl
  • Javascript
  • Other

0 voters

Finally, if you have any specific questions on code. I will look at anything less than 100 lines.

4 Likes

I’m thinking of teaching a class on OpenCV or Machine Learning, not sure if there is interest, Im worried newbies wont be able to setup their computer, maybe I could use Jupyter Notebooks or something.

HTML? Do you mean JavaScript?

1 Like

Ya, it is difficult to determine what level a class should be at considering we have members from all sorts of backgrounds. I may be interested in the class on machine learning myself.