Farm Classes need?

Still trying to figure out how forum goes so if this is in wrong one please let me know. So several people at DMS have told me that I should teach some farm classes. I don’t have an issue with teaching as I used to be an instructor at a local county Homeland Security. But what farm classes would be sought by members as I can’t see a link between farming and what the DMS is? Please let me know if there is a want or need for this subject. I am a small farmer(not one of the huge monocroppers ) and do farm a variety of animals and techniques, such as rotational grazing.

1 Like

I think that would be pretty cool. Not sure on where we could host this, but I would be interested.

1 Like

Good idea!

I have had a small farm for some time now. I shouldn’t call myself a farmer but I’ve learned a lot and would love to learn more an occasionally chime in. If we ever needed a test area I would gladly volunteer some land as I pretty much break even on what I do there. But it’s in Mt. Vernon, about 90 minutes away.

As they say, I lose money on each cow but make up for it on volume! (doing the math, I need as many negative cows as possible)

If you have worked cattle then you are a farmer. I have worked both beef and dairy cattle in the past and they are a pain. I am a part time farmer (work full time in plano) but working with a Veteran program (Battleground to breaking ground) to help me transition to full time farming. The issue I see, like you, I am out in Commerce so a bit away from the DMS area. I don’t mind hosting at our farm as we have done many times before at our old leased farm for cub scouts and other classes.

1 Like

Only way in a non classroom setting would be at a farm. Possibly teach in a classroom but would not have the hands on part.

I wonder if we have space for a vertical farm…

1 Like

That I would love to see. Have not gotten into Aquaponics or hydroponics yet, but have researched a bit on the subject and eventually want to try myself.