Engrave name on organza bags

Hello everyone,

I would like to engrave or print name on organza bags, what is the best possible way to get it done??

Thoughts on my mind is to laser engrave! I would appreciate any better solution

Most of these I’ve seen as wispy thin. I suspect you’ll have a hard time marking these without cutting them.

Most I’ve seen are polyester of some sort, so dye sub? @CaryF300

I had planned on working with the lasers today. I’m not an expert on the laser currently with that said I still know some. I can help you as much as I can while I’m there.

I’m thinking you’d just melt the bags if you tried them on the laser. Having once ironed a hole in twinkle cloth (which looked much like today’s organza bags), they might not even stand up to dye-sub, as that requires some heat.

(I turned the iron on – pretty much normal heat setting, probably cotton or wool, set the iron to my twinkle cloth skirt, and “poof” – an iron-shaped hole in my skirt.)

Edit – you should test a “sacrifice” bag to see how much heat it will take. We’ve also got fusible vinyl, but that also requires some heat.

Seems like I need to rule out laser and sublimation???

Very likely. (and some characters)

If heat is an issue, that pretty much rules out Dye sublimation, Laser and heat transfer vinyl.

My thoughts would lean more towards embroidery or custom patches that were sewn on.
The patches could be made on the Viking embroidery machine as well.

Slap on a sticker. Maaaaybe screenprinting

But I need to make 21 of them! Which can take hours!!

All the same content, or is each different?

A stencil and spray paint or dye would be one option.

I dimly remember we have a pad printer somewhere. @mreynolds @AmeliaG @rlisbona any idea?

This is the first time you mentioned a quantity and I was just trying to give you a suggestion of how to get it done.